Before the start of its October 19, 2009 meeting, the Westchester County Board of Legislators held its annual celebration of Italian heritage and culture.

This year’s ceremony commemorated the 400th Anniversary of the invention of the telescope by Galileo Galilei and the 100th Anniversary of the death of Italian American Crime Fighter Giuseppe Petrosino.

Following a presentation and proclamation by the County Board declaring October "Italian Heritage & Culture" month in the county, the legislature recognized the achievements of outstanding students and teachers of the Italian language in Westchester. The 2009 honorees are listed below (district/legislator - student, school, teacher).  

District 15 (Hon. Gordon Burrows) - Naquera Welcome
Roosevelt High School
Nancy Adorno

District 14 (Hon. B. Spreckman) - James Maniglia
Lincoln High School
Giovanna DeAngelis

District 6 - Rocco Cipriano
Harrison High School
Maria Battipaglia

District 5 (Hon. Bill Ryan) - Jacob Carmen
White Plains High School
Giuseppe Spedaliere

District 4 (Hon. Mike Kaplowitz) - Mikhiel Lim
Yorktown High School
Dominic Passarelli

District 12 (Hon. Tom Abinanti) - Jiwoo Ryu
Ardsley High School
Michelle Genna

District 1 (Hon. George Oros) - Angela Licata
Hendrick Hudson High School
Silvana Cappabianca

District 3 (Hon. John Nonna) - Mariangela Fiorenza
Westlake High School
Rossana Caringi 

District 16 (Hon. Ken Jenkins) - Florentina Dipaola
Gorton High School
Carmela Cevetillo

District 17 - Ashley Balseiro
Yonkers High School
Maria Di Bello

District 11 (Hon. Jim Maisano) - Alexandra Avvocato
New Rochelle High School
Maria Notaro 

District 7 (Hon. Judy Myers) - Giuliana DeAngelis
Rye Neck High School
Rita Maria Carolini

District 10 (Hon. Vito Pinto) - Julianna Flamio
Eastchester High School
Lucrezia Lindia

District 10 (Hon. Vito Pinto) - Adriana Vicario
Tuckahoe High School
Antonietta DeAngelis

District 9 (Hon. Bill Burton) - Francesca Davide
Ossining High School
Francesca Amedeo

District 8 (Hon. Lois Bronz) - Melissa Desofi
Woodlands High School
Maria Vannucci





Westchester County Legislator George Oros (R/Cortlandt) is pleased to inform residents in Cortlandt and Peekskill that the Sprout Brook Ash Disposal facility, located high above North Division Street and Sprout Brook Road, will be accepting its last truckload of burnt garbage on October 22.

At its September 21st meeting, the Board of Legislators celebrated Jewish Heritage and Pride and paid tribute to the generations of Jewish Americans who have helped form the fabric of American history, culture and society.  The Board hosts this annual ceremony to recognize the more than 350-year history of Jewish contributions to American culture by celebrating their lives, cherishing the traditions that they embraced, examining their achievements and faith, and affirming the vibrant worldwide Jewish community that is their legacy today.

Westchester County Legislator Jim Maisano (R, New Rochelle) announced today that he will be holding a town hall meeting to discuss the proposal before the County Legislature to settle the lawsuit accusing Westchester County of filing false statements with the federal government relating to the Community Development Block Grant program on Thursday, September 17, from 7:30 to 9:30 PM at the New Rochelle City Hall Annex (the old courthouse), 90 Beaufort Place, Room B1, New Rochelle, New York.

Legislator Gordon A. Burrows was proud to sponsor the annual Women’s Equality Day Reformed Committee’s program August 7 in the meeting room of the Board of Legislators. The committee gathers to commemorate the ratification of the 19th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution, granting voting freedom to women, and honor pro-life women of outstanding civic and personal achievement. The 2009 honoree was Theresa Bonopartis, director of Lumina Hope and Healing After Abortion. Guest speaker was acitivist and teacher Brigid Faranda.