White Plains, NY — In response to voting reform legislation passed by the New York State legislature and expected to be signed by Governor Andrew Cuomo, Westchester County Board of Legislators Chairman Ben Boykin (D - White Plains, Scarsdale, Harrison) has established a Voting Reform Working Group at the County Board of Legislators.

The Working Group is tasked with reviewing the State legislation to determine how it alters procedures for primaries, early voting, and voter registration, so that relevant information can be shared with candidates, lawmakers and the public.  

The Working Group also will be examining what if any changes to the Westchester County Administrative Code and Charter, and to Board of Legislators rules, may be necessary as a result of the legislation in Albany.

The Working Group is expected to begin meeting shortly and will issue a report on its initial findings next month.

Boykin said, "We all share the goals of increasing voter turnout and making it easier for voters to cast ballots. I hope these new State law changes will help achieve these goals. Such significant changes require that we examine all the ramifications to ensure that candidates, the public, and the Board of Legislators are prepared.  In addition, I certainly know that our County Board of Elections will be working hard to implement the new State requirements."

Working Group Chair Leg. Johnson (D – Yonkers) said, “Expanding opportunities for people to vote is one of the most important things government can do, and I'm glad the State has moved to open up the voting and the registration processes.  At the County level, where elections are run, we have to be ready to put these new policies into practice as smoothly as possible, especially under the tight deadlines established by the new laws. So, I’m excited for our Working Group to get started and to make sure that elections are fair and open for all Westchester residents.”

The Chairman's Voting Reform Working Group members are:

  • Leg. Christopher Johnson, Chairman
  • Leg. Nancy Barr
  • Leg. Catherine Borgia
  • Leg. David Tubiolo
  • Board Vice Chair Leg. Alfreda Williams
  • Leg. Lyndon Williams
  • County Attorney John Nonna

with involvement of staff of the Board of Legislators’ and staff of the County Executive’s office:

  • Melanie Montalto, Legislative Director, Board of Legislators          
  • Chris Crane, Senior Legislative Counsel, Board of Legislators
  • Tara Bernard, Advisor to the Chairman, Board of Legislators
  • Caleb Hersh, Personal Legislative Aide to Leg. Catherine Borgia
  • Andrew Ferris, Chief of Staff, County Executive’s Office
  • Victor Mallison, Director of Intergovernmental Affairs, County Executive’s Office
  • Steve Bass, Assistant to the County Executive, Intergovernmental Relations
  • Susan Spear, Assistant to the County Executive