White Plains, NY — Westchester County Board of Legislators Chair Ben Boykin (D – White Plains, Scarsdale, Harrison), on Tuesday announced that Legislator Kitley Covill (D - Bedford, Lewisboro, Mount Kisco, North Salem, Pound Ridge, Somers) will become Chair of the Committee on Legislation succeeding Legislator Virginia Perez (D - Yonkers) who has resigned as Chair and as a member of the committee. Legislator Covill will continue to serve as Chair of the Social Services Committee.

In resigning, Leg. Perez said, “My outside business interests have taken an increasing amount of my time. I have always devoted my full time energies to the best interest of our constituents. I have concluded that given my increasing business commitments, stepping aside as Chairwoman is best. It has been an honor to serve as Chairwoman.” At her request, Leg. Perez also has been removed as a member of the Public Safety Committee.

Boykin said, “I would like to thank Legislator Perez for five years of service as Chair of the Legislation Committee, and wish her good luck in her future endeavors. I also would like to extend my congratulations to Legislator Covill on her appointment as chair of this important committee.”

Majority Leader Catherine Parker (D - Harrison, Larchmont, Mamaroneck, New Rochelle, Rye), said, “I’d like to express my appreciation for Legislator Perez’s candor in expressing the need to focus on her new business venture and I wish her much success. I look forward to working with Legislator Covill as the Board continues to advance important legislation in 2019.”

The Board’s Committee on Legislation is one of the two committees that are mandated under the Charter and Administrative Code of Westchester County.