The 11th Annual Celebration of  Italian Heritage & Culture Month  at the Westchester County Board of Legislators


In celebration of October as Italian Heritage and Culture Month in Westchester,  the Westchester County Board of Legislators, along with the Westchester Coalition of Italian American Organizations and the Westchester Italian Cultural Center, presented Westchester students with proclamations honoring them as the county''s outstanding Italian language students.

Please see below for names of honorees, listed according to the district in which they live. Also listed is the student''s high school and Italian language teacher.

As part of the celebration, each County Legislator presented a Certificate of Merit to the teacher-selected outstanding Italian language student in his or her district.  

District 1—Hon. George Oros
Julien Levesque
Hendrick Hudson High School
Silvana Cappabianca

District 10—Hon. Vito Pinto
John Astarita
Eastchester High School
Lucrezia Lindia


Lauren Sears
Tuckahoe High School
Antonietta DeAngelis

District 2—Hon. Ursula LaMotte
Alessandro Marchetti
The Montfort Academy
Mara Persampieri
District 3—Hon. Sue Swanson
David Caso
Westlake High School
Rossana Caringi
District 11—Hon. James Maisano
Rebecca Maxfield
New Rochelle High School
Maria Notaro
District 4—Hon. Mike Kaplowitz
Cathryn Cardillo
Yorktown High School
Dominic Passarelli
District 12—Hon. Thomas Abinant
Katia Vieira
Ardsley High School
Annamaria Forte
District 5—Hon. William Ryan, Chair
Alissa Brunetti
White Plains High School
Giuseppe Spedaliere
District 13—Hon. Clinton Young
Justin Schnabel
Mount Vernon High School
Lucia Vetrone
District 6—Hon. Martin Rogowsky
Riya Goyal
Harrison High School
Rita Delli Carpini
District 14—Hon. Bernice Spreckman
Christopher Ceriello
Lincoln High School
Giovanna DeAngelis
District 7—Hon. Judy Myers
Nicola Paracchini
Rye Neck High School
Rita Maria Carolini
District 15—Hon. Gordon Burrows
Mercedes Aquino
Roosevelt High School
Nancy Adorno
District 8—Hon. Lois Bron
Rachel Davis
Woodlands High School
Maria Vannucci
Dist. 16—Hon. Ken Jenkins
Amber Cannady
Gorton High School
Carmela Cevetillo
District 9—Hon. William Burton
Lucia Muñoz
Ossining High School
Francesca Amedeo
District 17—Hon. Jose Alvarado
Hye Ji Choi
Yonkers High School
Maria DiBello