## COMMITTEE ON LEGISLATION MINUTES: December 1, 2008

**LEGISLATION** 

MEMBERS: Chair: Burton; Legislators: Myers, Bronz, Jenkins,

Nonna, Maisano, Harckham, Abinanti

**IN ATTENDANCE: CE:** B. Randolph; **BOL:** S. Bass, E. Vita; **BOE:** R.

Lafayette, C. Sunderland; GUESTS: R. McLaughlin

(LWV), L. Graham,

With a quorum present, the Committee on Legislation was called to order at 1:35 p.m.

## **MINUTES**

(Jenkins, Myers) Move to approve the minutes of November 17, 2008. Motion approved 5-0.

## **BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS**

(Burton, Nonna) move to approve the reappointments of Reginald A. LaFayette and Carolee Sunderland for a term beginning January 1,2008 through December 31, 2010.

The committee interviewed Board of Election Commissioners Reggie LaFayette and Carolee Sunderland. Each was recommended by their respective political committee. Motion approved 7-0.

(Maisano, Nonna) Move to appoint Lawrence Otis Graham as a member of the Police Advisory Board for a three year term to expire on January 31, 2011.

The Committee interviewed Lawrence Graham for the Police Advisory Board for a three year term. Mr. Graham is currently chairman of the Police Board and was previously appointed by the County Executive. Motion approved 7-0.

(Jenkins, Burton) move to recess at 2:11pm, until the call of the Chair. Motion approved 7-0.

The Committee on Legislation reconvened at 2:22 pm.

(Jenkins, Myers) Move to approve the reappointments of Cecile D. Singer, as the District 10 representative to the Women's Advisory Board, Marion Anderson as the District 7 representative to the Women's Advisory Board, Deborah Matystik as an At Large member to the Women's Advisory Board and the appointment of Philip Raffiani as a member of the Taxi and Limousine Commission. Motion approved 8-0.

(Harckham, Myers) Move to adjourn. Motion approved 8-0. Committee on Legislation adjourned at 2:25 P.M.

## **AUDIO RECORDING ON FILE FOR REVIEW UPON REQUEST**